BBC to add Six new African language services

  • November 17, 2016

The British public broadcaster or BBC, has announced on Wednesday that it will launch 11 new language services in the coming year 2017 as they wish to expand their services. Among the 11 languages are six African languages including Afaan Oromo, Amharic, Tigrinya, Igbo, Yoruba and Nigerian Pidgin.

The language Tigrinya is mainly spoken in Eritrea and also in some parts of Ethiopia while Igbo, Yoruba and the Nigerian Pidgin are spoken mainly in Nigeria and in other parts of West Africa.

The languages Afaan Oromo and Amharic are widely spoken in Ethiopia with the former also spoken in some parts of Kenya, Somalia and Egypt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :