Joint Statement by Heads of Mission in Kenya on Corruption

  • May 31, 2018

NAIROBI, Kenya, May 30, 2018/ — Joint Statement by Heads of Mission in Kenya on Corruption:

Corruption has long undermined Kenya’s prosperity, security, and democracy.  It is, quite simply, theft from the Kenyan people.  As friends, we welcome the recent action by the Director of Public Prosecutions, working with the Directorate of Criminal Investigations, to charge officials and others in connection with reports of widespread corruption at the National Youth Service.  We also welcome President Kenyatta’s statements and actions to address the corruption scourge.  We urge that Kenya’s judiciary take swift action, consistent with the rule of law, to ensure fair trials and justice.

No country is free of corruption, and many of ours have faced challenges.  There are no shortcuts to tackling the problem.  It requires strong Kenyan political leadership, a commitment to zero tolerance for corruption, and all government and law enforcement agencies working together.  When there is evidence of corruption, those responsible should be prosecuted regardless of political party, social stature, or personal connections.  Individuals or organizations found guilty of stealing should be held accountable, to include forfeiting the proceeds of their crimes.  And Kenyans need strong, reliable institutions and systems that reduce the opportunities for corruption.

As partners, we stand with Kenyans in the fight against corruption.  Many of us are providing wide-ranging assistance and support in this effort and we will continue to do so.  We know Kenyans can end corruption.  The challenge is for all Kenyans to join hands, take decisive action, and make the changes that are needed.

Robert F. Godec

Ambassador of the United States

Stefano Dejak

Ambassador, European Union Delegation to Kenya

Anna Jardfeldt

Ambassador of Sweden

Frans Makken

Ambassador of the Netherlands

Jutta Frasch

Ambassador of Germany

Mauro Massoni

Ambassador of Italy

Pavel Rezac

Ambassador of Czech Republic

Frantisek Dlhopolcek

Ambassador of Slovak Republic

Lisa Doherty

Chargé’ d’Affaires of Ireland

Nic Hailey

High Commissioner for the United Kingdom

Mette Knudsen

Ambassador of Denmark

Ralf Heckner

Ambassador of Switzerland

Tarja Fernández

Ambassador of Finland

Alison Chartres

High Commissioner for Australia

Sara Hradecky

High Commissioner for Canada

Jacek Bazanski

Ambassador of Poland

Julia Pataki

Ambassador of Romania

Vebjørn Heines

Chargé d’Affaires of Norway

Source: APO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :